Sunday, February 15, 2015

Outage Book Two: The Awakening by T.W. Piperbrook


The first several pages of the story parallel Abby and Rob's experiences that take place in Outage. Then the story picks up where Abby's story ends. Tom has lost his wife and is on the run, desperately trying to escape the creatures that seem to be everywhere. He knows his odds of survival are slim, but he is determined to go down fighting if need be.

Along the way, he picks up two young, stranded survivors and together they seek refuge from the storm and the creatures dwelling in it. Will they find safety? Can they survive the night? 

When it comes to Piperbrook's fast-paced, spellbinding way of telling a story, anything is possible.

Publisher: Post Script Publishing

Print Length: 93 pages

Cover Art: Keri Knutson

Editor: Cathy Moeschet
Proofreader: Linda Tooch


Kindle Edition
5 out of 5 stars

Everything I loved about Outage (book one) is found in its sequel. Outage Book Two: The Awakening is a thrill ride. From the first page to the last, the story engages and delivers a fun experience to the reader. I found I could not put the book down once I started reading. 

T.W. Piperbrook is a talented writer and storyteller. Though the book is relatively short, each page is packed with excitement and what I think of as "concentrated story." What do I mean by that? Well, think of one of your favorite books, take out the fluff, and you have story-concentrate. That's not to say this book is lacking in character development and descriptive scenes; it has just enough of both to keep the story vivid in the mind's eye. 

As a writer and editor/proofreader, I sometimes forget that reading is supposed to be for pleasure, not just "work." Outage Book Two was pure pleasure reading for me, and it was great to experience that again! The book is both edited and proofread very well, which was refreshing since I didn't find myself getting distracted by errors.

I have a hard time recommending this book only to those who are fans of horror. Outage Book Two: The Awakening is a story that can be enjoyed by just about anyone who likes an engaging, fun tale. Don't miss out on this series!

Purchase Outage and Outage Book Two: The Awakening on Amazon.

My review of Outage (book one) can be found here.

About the Author
T.W. Piperbrook was born and raised in Connecticut, where he can still be found today. In addition to writing, the author has also spent time as a full-time touring musician, touring across the US, Canada, and Europe.
He now lives with his wife, a son, and the spirit of his Boston Terrier.
Follow Piperbrook on Facebook
Sign up for T.W. Piperbrook's Newsletter  
Visit his website here!